The Juliusz Paweł Schauder Medal has been established by the Juliusz P. Schauder Center for Nonlinear Studies.
The prize, in the form of the bronze medal, is awarded by the international jury appointed by the Scientific Council of the Schauder Center to mathematicians for the profound scientific achievements and contributions in nonlinear analysis and its applications with special emphasis put onto topological methods. The applications of candidatures should be submitted by individuals, groups of mathematicians or mathematical societies from the world-wide mathematical community.


To the date the following prize-winners were awarded

2012 - Jean Mawhin

2014 - Paul Rabinowitz

2017 - Edward Norman Dancer

2020 - Susanna Terracini

2023 - Thomas Bartsch


The 5th edition of the competition has been settled

The jury, appointed by the Scientific Council of the Juliusz P. Schauder Center for Nonlinear Studies at the Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń, Poland, carried out a careful evaluation of the candidate and unanimously decided to award the 2023 Juliusz Schauder Medal to

Professor Thomas Bartsch

from the University of Giessen, Germany

for his exceptional achievements in the field of nonlinear analysis as well as topological and variational methods in this area.

The decision of the jury has met the full support and the approval from all the members of the Council.

We wish to congratulate Professor Thomas Bartsch warmly on this honorable distinction.

The prize awarding ceremony is planned to be held on June 18, 2024 during the VIII Symposium on Nonlinear Analysis. Information about the event is available here.